So Audrey!: How to Style the Little Black Dress

My birthday is in a few hours, so basically I can talk about anything I want. And it wouldn’t be my birthday if the topic wasn’t Audrey Hepburn; and I wouldn’t be talking about Audrey if I didn’t talk about the Little Black Dress.

When talking about the LBD, one of the most iconic women who represent this style is obviously Audrey Hepburn. She could make a simple black dress the most stunning dress in the room by simply adding some accessories, or just by how she presented herself while wearing it.

lbd_-audrey-hepburn

Every time I’m styling a LBD I think to myself “what would Audrey do?” and inspiration comes to me. I have found that the key to styling a LBD is simplicity, “less is more.” While shopping for a dress to style on this post I came across this beauty at Nordstrom. This is the type of dress I love because it speaks for itself without having to add a million accessories to make it look good. Just add some small sparkly earrings, like the ones I found at Dillard’s, and these simple black pumps by Jessica Simpson and let the dress speak for itself.

NOTE: A very important thing to keep in mind when buying a little black dress is the idea of “quality, not quantity.” I would rather have one really nice black dress than five really cheap-looking ones; think about a LBD as an investment.

This has been by far my favorite post to make. Do you have any role models? Do you follow anyone’s style? I would love to know.

Until next time!

XOXO,

CR

 

p.s. This post was written while I listened to the beautiful Audrey sing Moon River, there was no other way for it to be written.

Leave a comment